Remaking the Classics

7dc7a4c05c1d1

If there is one thing that film snobs all around the world tend to agree on, it’s their stand on movie remakes. Don’t fuck with a classic! For decades, there have been cocky young directors who set out to put a fresh twist on our favorite gore fests, only to drown under a wave of comparisons. They replace our beloved red Karo syrup and simulated intestines with CGI and excessive vomit scenes. Sometimes we pay for the ticket anyway, either in hopes of a good adaptation, or even just out of morbid curiosity. But we usually walk out of the theatre the same way: shaking our heads in disbelief, and saying things like, “Wow, Romero must be pissed”. 

Have there been any decent remakes in the past twenty or so years? Well, I have to admit something. I won’t beat around the bush any longer. Here goes…..

I don’t hate the 2004 remake of Dawn of the Dead. In fact, I quite like it. Now, I’m not saying it’s as good as the original, because it most certainly is not. The original Dawn is probably my favorite zombie movie of all time, for many reasons.  But I do think that the remake held it’s own in certain ways. For one, the cast was way more decent that I expected. The gore scenes were beautifully executed and the zombies were sufficiently creepy. I really could have done without the zombie infant, though. 

I only recently found out that a remake came out this year of Day of the Dead. I’ve yet to see it, but the cover art along with the inclusion of Mena Sevari doesn’t look promising to me. 

day-of-the-dead-2008-dvd-cover

 

Has anyone seen the new Day of the Dead? Is it okay, or does it make you want to claw your eyes out? Do the zombies puke as much as the cover art implies? Please say no.

4 Responses to “Remaking the Classics”

  1. you’re instincts are right…it was not very good…not the worst i have seen, but still…they tried to take the same formula that worked really well for the dawn of the dead remake (zombies, a tough blonde, and ving rhames), but they missed the mark…

  2. I haven’t seen the Day of the Dead remake yet. Though from what I hear, it’s not much of a remake (in name only). It’s been on my Netflix queue for a while now, because I’m determined to give it a shot (if only to justify making fun of it) but somehow other, better movies like Zombie Strippers keep making their way ahead of it in line. Maybe one day, I’ll subject myself to it and write a review.

  3. leighcifer Says:

    Damnit Justin, you’re determined to make me watch a Jenna Jameson movie. Fine, Zombie Strippers is now on my Netflix queue.🙂

  4. The Day of the Dead remake makes Zombie Strippers look Oscar worthy. Not that ZS isn’t fun in its own, so-bad-its-awesome sort of way, but Day of the Dead is just…. awful. I kept having to be reminded what movie they were trying to rip off, it just has nothing to do with the original at all. Which would be OK, if it was fun to watch. Which it isn’t. Zombies don’t puke anything like on the box, that I can recall, but dear lord does this movie suck.

    If I was going to crack a joke, it would be about how Aliens vs. Predator Requiem is a better zombie movie than the Day of the Dead remake. If I was going to say something serious….

    Actually, I’ll go on record right now as saying that Resident Evil 3 is both a better movie and a more faithful remake of Day of the Dead than the actual Day of the Dead remake.

Leave a Reply

