WWZ Concept Art

World War Z concept art

World War Z concept art

Okay, I’ve got a confession to make, and it’s one that any zombie lover worth their weight in brains would be ashamed to admit:

I’ve never read World War Z.

A shame, I know.  At this point, I’m almost afraid to read it.  I’m afraid it won’t live up to the hype.  I’m also considering just waiting until after the movie, so that I’m not disappointed in the movie itself (as you know the movie never lives up the book, even in zombiedom), which is kind of shaping up to look pretty kick ass.

Anyway, all of that is to say that the above image, by artist Daniel LuVisi is pretty frakkin’ rad.  It’s not an official piece of concept art for the movie, but rather one that LuVisi created to try to secure a job on the upcoming adaptation by Marc Forster.

Says the artist himself:

This is the image I did, to get on the film World War Z with Marc Forster, director of Quantum of Solace. Can’t say whats going on or what the outcome is right now, but it’s not in the negative zone🙂

That smiley face is his doing, not mine by the way.  Click on over to io9, who found this awesome image, and you can see some details of the work, as well as some of LuVisi’s other work and an interview with the guy.

6 Responses to “WWZ Concept Art”

  1. If youre worried about reading the book you should pick up the audio version. Its so much better then the Book it has a diverse voice actor cast and you really get a feel for the characters personalities. I think a lot gets lost in the book.

  2. Oh, I’ve got no problem reading the book. I’m a reading maniac, which is part of the reason I haven’t read this one yet (my “To Read” list just keeps growing). But the audio book sounds pretty cool. I may actually look into that.

  3. You should read it. I’m not a particular “fan” of zombies but with it written in oral-history fashion, it makes it seem so real. Makes any epidemic seem real. I don’t think you’ll be disappointed. I wasn’t.

  4. The audio book is excellent, but the book itself is much longer than the audio book- they had to leave a lot of stuff out or the audio book would have been to expensive/long.

    Its not overhyped IMO- its one of the best books (of any genre) I’ve read in many, many years.

  5. as a fellow zombie lover (and zombie blogger) I have to admit I havent read it either. but now that the movie is comming out I feel obligated to pick it up. no harm no foul. 😛

  6. Welcome to GFXshare.us – Free GFX source for you…

    […]WWZ Concept Art « Send More Cops[…]…

Leave a Reply

